Stripey Sorbetto…

Yesterday I thought to myself I would whip something up quickly, only to be initially thwarted by the lack of prewashed fabrics in my chest of drawers. If ever there was a case for pre shrinking fabric as soon as you buy it… However, I eventually found this white and blue stripe cotton that I bought a while back and used for another project. And there was still enough to squeeze this top out of it!

I used Colette Patterns’ Sorbetto top – a free to download pattern available here.

I was looking for something quick and easy to recover from my bout of idleness. The only other thing I managed to make this week were some lavender bags…

Heeding Karen’s advice from Did You Make That, I added a good 4″ to each pattern part. I’m glad I did, I dread to imagine how short this would be on me otherwise – crop top maybe??

I’m pretty happy with this top, it’s a perfect top for high waisted pencil skirts for work or casual with jeans. I didn’t make a muslin, as I considered this my ‘wearable muslin’. I’m desperately short of decent tops for work at the moment and I start a new job next week. I’m thinking next time I would like to make it in silk and on the bias with maybe small cap sleeves…

I was in a very stripey mood – Matching shoes!

One thought on “Stripey Sorbetto…

Leave a comment